

REVISION-MUSIC COMMITTEE STATUS REPORT

October 2023

The Revision-Music committee is working steadily and has made excellent progress this year. The committee has met fifteen times since May 2019. We have held twenty-one town hall meetings.

To date 182 singers have submitted 924 songs by 259 composers/arrangers. Of those, more than 70 percent of the composers are living or known to living singers. The committee is evaluating songs blindly without dates or attributions.

The deadline for submitting songs is November 1, 2023.

We have held nine sessions to date to sing and record submitted songs. In these sessions we sang 851 songs. The committee has completed a first-round evaluation of 824 songs. The following revision singing/recording sessions have been held in 2023. We are grateful to the many singers who have participated in these sessions. Thank you, also, to our hosts.

- · January 28 (Saturday) Liberty Church Henagar, Alabama
- · February 11 (Saturday) Emory University Atlanta, Georgia
- March 12 (Sunday) Prosperity Grange Hall Olympia, Washington
- · July 5 (Wednesday) Camp Fasola Anniston, Alabama
- · July 30 (Sunday) Young People's Singing Montreal, Quebec

The Book Design and Production adjunct committee has accomplished important baseline work by completing rough typesetting of hundreds of songs in the 1991 Edition that are regularly used. The adjunct committee has also made progress drafting a style guide for the new revision and designing the look of the revision's pages.

We continue to receive your general inputs and song submissions by the following email or postal mail channels. General inputs received in this way are viewed by all committee members. The email address is Revision@SacredHarp.com. The postal address is Revision-Music Committee, PO Box 4243, Huntsville, AL 35815.

Thank you for your encouragement and for the confidence that you have expressed in this committee.

Revision-Music Committee

David Ivey (Chairman), Lauren Bock, Helen Brown, Richard Ivey, Jesse P. Karlsberg, Nathan Rees, Karen Rollins, Terry Wootten, and David Wright