Congratulations to David Ivey, 2013 National Heritage Fellow

The Sacred Harp Publishing Company congratulates David Ivey, who has been recognized by the National Endowment for the Arts as a 2013 National Heritage Fellow. David, who co-founded Camp Fasola in 2003 with Jeff Sheppard and served as one of seven members of the Music Committee that revised The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition, is the secretary of the Sacred Harp Musical Heritage Association.

As one of nine 2013 fellows, David is the third Sacred Harp singer to be honored as a National Heritage Fellow. He joins Hugh McGraw, Executive Secretary Emeritus of the Publishing Company, who was recognized by the NEA in 1982, and Dewey Williams, singing master and leader of the Wiregrass Sacred Harp Singers, who received the honor in 1983.

About Nathan Rees

Nathan Rees is a member of the Board of Directors of the Sacred Harp Publishing Company and associate editor of the Sacred Harp Publishing Company Newsletter. Originally from Utah, he lives in Carrollton, Georgia, where he is assistant professor of art history at the University of West Georgia.

About Jesse P. Karlsberg

Jesse P. Karlsberg is the vice president of the Sacred Harp Publishing Company. He edits the Sacred Harp Publishing Company Newsletter. Born in Boston, he lives in Atlanta and is senior digital scholarship strategist at Emory University.
This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *